My ld entry https://bit.ly/2McFTzB

Itch.io page https://pmlomb.itch.io/ld42-acreage

It didn’t go down the way I was hoping… made many mistakes, one of them was not taking breaks and getting a sore bum and neck on Saturday evening, which led to some bad sleep and made Sunday less fun. Also forgot to drink water and so feeling quite dehydrated.

Alas I wanted to make a tile laying game, and I did. I’ve successfully implemented a command pattern before, but completely mucked it up in acreage, panic started setting in, events started happening and logic flow starting getting hard to follow. I made a task list and ordered them in level of importance, and just when I should have tackled the next most important thing, so I started making graphics instead, which I got increasingly unhappy with as the clock ticked faster, so I iterated on them… and then iterated again, I’m still unhappy with the visual style… “It’s just a jam, it’s just a jam, it’s just a jam…”

Instead of dwelling in the stress and judgement of my attempt I’m going to just be happy and delight in the creation of a thing!

 

AcreageScreenshot_0003

Leave a comment