Learning Blender – Modeling Texturing Animating

In a very real effort to learn how to use Blender, the battle of the interface was fierce but I think I’ve slain the beast. Getting my head around it. Modeled and textured a Character, concept found on http://yannouchka.over-blog.fr/ Great animator and concept artist.

I’m wanting to take this through to a rendered animated clip, to get to grips with the whole pipeline in Blender. Tried to get the same feel as the Meet Buck short, didn’t quite get it, but still has a nice feel about it. may need to sharpen up the texture. Very happy with the shadow over the arms, looks like the right value and color. Pictures are screenshots of the viewport, mainly because I don’t really know how to do anykind of rendering yet. The texture painting is cool, it’s a little buggy but gets you where you need to be when you take it into photoshop to do your main painting. The texture started with flat colors and an Ambient Occlusion overlayed ontop, then painted in the 3d view get get some basics down, then finished it up in Photoshop. Was really frustrated with the unwrapping tools until I learned how to use Pinning in conjunction with Live Unwrap… Amazing! in my opinion it’s a hands down better unwrapping experience than that in Zbrush, Maya or Softimage. . Wasn’t very aware of  the poly count when I was modeling but happy to see it came in under 1000 polygons.

Nextup: meta rigging.

skully_model

I should have spent more time on this, at the very least posing the hands! they very stiff and could have benefited from some more overlap in the fingers, and a general polish pass could have added just that extra bit to it, anyhow, I’ll see how I feel in the future about coming back to it and revising, but in terms of animating in Blender, I can honestly say that it’s one of the better programs to do it in. I really like the manipulation tools in the graph and dope sheet, it’s nifty that they work the same way as the 3d view on normal objects! It has curve handles that behave as you’d expect and I’m going to say that it’s a better environment to animate in than what Maya 2011 is. Gogo Blender.

Leave a Reply

